A State by State Massage Therapist Licensure Guide

Massage Therapy Licensure in Nevada

 

Nevada massage therapists are under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Massage Therapy. They are credentialed on the basis of education and examination. Licensees must also be at least eighteen and have acceptable backgrounds.

Select a Nevada Massage Therapy Licensure Topic:

Massage Therapist Education Requirements

Massage therapists must complete Board-recognized massage therapy programs of at least 500 hours. Programs are recognized if they are approved by the Nevada Commission on Postsecondary Education or are housed in public colleges in any state (http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-640C.html#NRS640CSec400). Other programs may be recognized at Board discretion.

The Nevada Board has provided a list of programs around the nation that do not meet requirements and are not approved (http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/Applicants/Frequently_Asked_Questions_(FAQ)_-_Applicants/). Programs may appear on the list because they were denied codes by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBMTB), because they were not in good standing with their regulatory agencies, or because the Nevada Board carried out its own investigation and found them to be lacking.

Out-of-state applicants cannot guarantee that a nonpublic educational program will be accepted even if it does not appear on the list. An applicant who wants recognition for a program that is not approved by the Commission on Postsecondary Education or offered by a state college will need to provide detailed information about the program (http://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-640C.html#NAC640CSec060).

Applicants with California transcripts may require Board review.

The Board notes that core curriculum cannot be completed through online education.

Examination Requirements

Nevada statute states that massage therapists must pass examinations that have been prepared by or for the Nevada Board or are offered by boards that hold accreditation through the National Commission for Certifying Agencies.

The licensing agency lists several options, all of which are offered by either the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) or the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). Accepted examinations include the following:

  • The National Certification Exam of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB)
  • The National Certification Exam of Therapeutic Massage (NCETM)
  • The National Exam for State Licensure (NESL)
  • The National Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam (MBLEX)

The NESL, NCETM, and NCETMB are no longer offered. The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork now offers only a Board Certification examination which is intended as one component of a certification process which rewards massage therapists who have skills beyond the entry level.

The MBLEX, an offering of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards, is currently available It is widely accepted as a licensing examination around the nation (https://www.fsmtb.org/).

Nevada residents are directed to register directly with the testing agency. They will pay a $195 fee to take the MBLEx. Applications are processed within one week. An approved candidate may schedule his or her computer-adapted examination through Pearson VUE. The FSMTB has provided candidate information bulletins in English and Spanish (https://www.fsmtb.org/mblex/).

The Application Process

Prospective massage therapists will need to request applications from the Board. They are not to make the request until they have graduated from a 500 hour program.

The request form can be downloaded from the Board website (http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/Applicants/How_to_Apply_for_a_License). It is to be accompanied by a $5 fee and a copy of state ID and social security card. Applicants who hold current licensing in other U.S. jurisdictions are directed to include copies of their credentials when making the request.

Additional supplemental materials will be due at the time of application.

The applicant will request that the school send transcripts and certificate of completion.

The applicant will need a two by two color photograph. It should be passport-quality.

First-time massage therapist candidates will need to have background checks completed. Individuals who request application materials will receive information about the background check. Individuals who have Livescan (electronic) fingerprinting will receive their background check results faster. However, the process could still take several weeks. The licensing agency notes that Livescan services are not available in rural parts of the state.

Applicants may receive temporary licenses before results from the background check have been received. They will need to have provided the fingerprints and submitted a form authorizing the background check. There will be an additional fee due. Temporary licensees practice under supervision.

First time massage therapist licensees pay a total of $375: $100 for application processing, $125 for the background check, and $150 for licensing.

Application status can be checked by email (http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/Applicants/Application_Status).

Out-of-State Massage Therapists

In many cases, massage therapists who hold licensing in other U.S. jurisdictions will be able to forego the background check and background check fee (http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/lmtnvgov/content/Applicants/How_to_Get_Licensed_In_Nevada.pdf). Out-of-state licensees will need to confirm that their credentials are in good standing. They will pay a total of $250 for application and license fees.

The licensing agency notes that this pathway is not open to professionals whose credentials are not current.

Additional Information

Massage Therapy Schools in Nevada

The Nevada State Board of Massage Therapists can be reached by telephone at 775-687-9955 or by email at 'nvmassagebd at state.nv.us'. Applicants with questions can use the email contact form found in the FAQ section of the website (http://massagetherapy.nv.gov/Applicants/Frequently_Asked_Questions_(FAQ)_-_Applicants/).

The state’s professional organization is the Nevada Chapter of the American Massage Therapy Association. AMTA-NV is not involved with the licensing process but serves as an additional professional resource (http://amta-nv.org).